Ugly Hedgehog - Photography
Home Active Topics Newest Pictures Search Login Register
Main Photography Discussion
Another Lightroom Anomaly
May 24, 2023 16:34:09   #
DWU2 Loc: Phoenix Arizona area
 
Here's an oddball thing I encountered in LR Classic. It appeared that I had accidentally selected all photos and overwritten the keywording for every photo in the database with the same single word. I was expecting to have to restore from catalog backup. But, I closed LR, then relaunched, and all was well. Has anyone else experienced this?

Reply
May 25, 2023 01:17:00   #
JD750 Loc: SoCal
 
DWU2 wrote:
Here's an oddball thing I encountered in LR Classic. It appeared that I had accidentally selected all photos and overwritten the keywording for every photo in the database with the same single word. I was expecting to have to restore from catalog backup. But, I closed LR, then relaunched, and all was well. Has anyone else experienced this?
I have made my share of mistakes with keywords but never experienced what you described above. I’m glad all was well after relaunching LR.

Reply
May 25, 2023 10:15:20   #
PhotosBySteve
 
DWU2 wrote:
Here's an oddball thing I encountered in LR Classic. It appeared that I had accidentally selected all photos and overwritten the keywording for every photo in the database with the same single word. I was expecting to have to restore from catalog backup. But, I closed LR, then relaunched, and all was well. Has anyone else experienced this?


You are a lucky one!
Whereas a simple Ctrl+Z (undo) would have worked quicker, and safer

Reply
 
 
May 25, 2023 10:30:45   #
CrazyJane Loc: Limbo
 
If when you closed LRC you did not backup the catalog, then when you relaunched you accessed the last saved version of the catalog. So I suspect this is why your keyword error was not saved; on the downside, any edits you've made since you last backed up the catalog were also lost. That might explain your experience.

Reply
May 25, 2023 10:43:38   #
JD750 Loc: SoCal
 
CrazyJane wrote:
If when you closed LRC you did not backup the catalog, then when you relaunched you accessed the last saved version of the catalog. So I suspect this is why your keyword error was not saved; on the downside, any edits you've made since you last backed up the catalog were also lost. That might explain your experience.
I’m sorry but I don’t think that’s quite right. Edits and changes are stored in the current catalog. Backing up the catalog only makes a copy of the current catalog.

The backup serves as an imperfect replacement for the current catalog in the event the current catalog gets damaged or lost.

It’s an imperfect replacement because all work since the last backup is stored in the current catalog. But it’s better than losing everything since the start of time. ;)

Reply
May 25, 2023 13:55:11   #
SuperflyTNT Loc: Manassas VA
 
CrazyJane wrote:
If when you closed LRC you did not backup the catalog, then when you relaunched you accessed the last saved version of the catalog. So I suspect this is why your keyword error was not saved; on the downside, any edits you've made since you last backed up the catalog were also lost. That might explain your experience.


Wrong. Backup is to safeguard against any issues. If you close without saving and reopen it will open in the same state as when you closed it.

Reply
May 25, 2023 13:57:52   #
JD750 Loc: SoCal
 
SuperflyTNT wrote:
Wrong. Backup is to safeguard against any issues. If you close without saving and reopen it will open in the same state as when you closed it.
yep!! (see my post directly above yours).

Reply
 
 
May 25, 2023 14:57:09   #
DirtFarmer Loc: Escaped from the NYC area, back to MA
 
Backup makes a copy of the current catalog. When you close LR it's the current catalog (with all changes right up to the last thing you did) that is saved. The backup is that catalog (duplicated and compressed) saved somewhere else. When you reopen LR, it's the current catalog that is used. It takes a bit more work to use the backup catalog.

That is probably a good reason to back up your catalog every time you close LR. If that change had stuck, you could have restored the previous backed up catalog but you would have lost any changes you made in this session. Better than losing all the changes you made since last week or whatever frequency you specify for the backup.

Reply
May 26, 2023 00:49:05   #
CrazyJane Loc: Limbo
 
JD750 wrote:
I’m sorry but I don’t think that’s quite right. Edits and changes are stored in the current catalog. Backing up the catalog only makes a copy of the current catalog.

The backup serves as an imperfect replacement for the current catalog in the event the current catalog gets damaged or lost.

It’s an imperfect replacement because all work since the last backup is stored in the current catalog. But it’s better than losing everything since the start of time. ;)


Yep, of course. Brain fart here.

Reply
May 26, 2023 10:10:26   #
JD750 Loc: SoCal
 
CrazyJane wrote:
Yep, of course. Brain fart here.
ha ha I think we all have those! I know I do.

Reply
May 26, 2023 10:36:59   #
BobHartung Loc: Bettendorf, IA
 
DWU2 wrote:
Here's an oddball thing I encountered in LR Classic. It appeared that I had accidentally selected all photos and overwritten the keywording for every photo in the database with the same single word. I was expecting to have to restore from catalog backup. But, I closed LR, then relaunched, and all was well. Has anyone else experienced this?


if may have been that you did not hit the return key after entering the new keywords. That would have re-set all the keywords.

Reply
 
 
May 26, 2023 11:58:11   #
DWU2 Loc: Phoenix Arizona area
 
BobHartung wrote:
if may have been that you did not hit the return key after entering the new keywords. That would have re-set all the keywords.


No, I think it was a LR bug. As I moved from photo to photo, the keyword never changed. If I'd somehow changed the keyword on every photo, after I closed and reoped LR, my mistake would have remained, but it didn't.

Reply
If you want to reply, then register here. Registration is free and your account is created instantly, so you can post right away.
Main Photography Discussion
UglyHedgehog.com
Copyright 2011-2024 Ugly Hedgehog, Inc.